Immersed in the scenery of pink and grey granite rocks among the wild mountains crowning it, this waterfall has received the homage of exceptional travellers and tourists over time such as Gabriele D’Annunzio.
The Church of the Anime Purganti, along with the Church of the Santa Barbara and the Oratorio di Nostra Signora del Rosario (Oratory of Our Lady of the Rosary) form a triad of churches that overlook the main piazza of the townand.
The oratory of Nostra Signora del Rosario was most probably built at the beginning of the 600s, when the brotherhood, having the same title, was built. The building’s original establishment is still visible in its gothic-Catalan style facade.
The construction of this church, dedicated to the craftsman San Giuseppe, patron of the carpenters, came was the will of a Spanish squire, called Lucifero Piras, who had it built in 1744 on his private territory.
The small country church dedicated to the fisherman S. Pietro, has remained, the only testament to the old and now lost Leni residence through out the centuries, a small farmers village that resided along the banks of the Leni River during Roman domination.
The numerous archaeological finds from the Nuragic and Roman ages found in the surroundings, however, testify that the site was a "magical" place and particularly suitable for religious celebrations since ancient times.
The Church of Santa Barbara, along with the Church of the Anime Purganti (Purged Souls) and the Oratorio di Nostra Signora del Rosario (Oratory of Our Lady of the Rosary) form a triad of churches that overlook the main piazza of the townand it is Villacidro’s oldest church (13th century).
The Washhouse was built in 1893 in the ancient district known as “Frontera de sa Mitza”, on a design by engineer Enrico Pani. It was part of a much broader project that included the entire surrounding piazza.
Numerous testaments of the buildings and structures belonging to the mine of the Serci canal still remain: the washery, some structures once used as miners’ dwellings, the director’s building, present day restructured and used as offices for “l'Ente Foreste della Sardegna”, and many mining tunnels.
The ancient “monte del grano”, has hosted the “Villa Leni Civic Archaeological Museum” since 2003. This expositional area displays many original finds arriving from the area’s most important archaeological sites.
The imposing structure of the Cadoni Mill stands adjacent to the Washhouse, and had maintained its ancient function all the way up to the Post World War II years as a more modern mill where wheat was brought to be ground.
The Museum of Sacred Art and Furnishings was established in 1998. It is located in the rooms of the Oratory dedicated to the Vergine del Rosario (Virgin of the Rosary) and is one of the few examples of permanent exhibits of its kind on the entire island of Sardinia.
The area in the outskirts of the town now known as Parco Castangias (Castangias Park) was once a beautiful forest filled with cherry trees, European nettle trees, walnut trees and first and foremost chestnut trees, from which the place gets its name.