To be seen

Villacidro also offers highly exciting landscapes, ideas for relaxing and healthy walks in nature, even without straying too far from the built-up area.

Belvedere Giarranas

Piazzale Giarranas, often mentioned in the novels written by Giuseppe Dessì, is renowned for the imposing granite spires called "Is Campanas de Sisinni Contu" (Sissinni Contu’s bells).

Casa Dessì

This house is distinct for its sober elegance and was considered at the time one of the town’s loveliest homes. The Dessì family purchased it from senator Loru.

Todde House

Giuseppe Todde, a well-established economist and university professor built the house. He was born at Villacidro in 1829 and deceased in 1897.

Muru Mannu waterfalls

The most imposing point of this massif, which is also Sardinia’s most elevated with its 72 meters of height, is the Muru Mannu falls

Sa Spendula Waterfall

Immersed in the scenery of pink and grey granite rocks among the wild mountains crowning it, this waterfall has received the homage of exceptional travellers and tourists over time such as Gabriele D’Annunzio.

Carmine Church

The small church dedicated to the Virgin Carmelo, built in the XVII century, is immersed in the green of the pine forest that rises above the high part of the town.

Church of the Purgative Souls

The Church of the Anime Purganti, along with the Church of the Santa Barbara and the Oratorio di Nostra Signora del Rosario (Oratory of Our Lady of the Rosary) form a triad of churches that overlook the main piazza of the townand.

Nostra Signora del Rosario Church

The oratory of Nostra Signora del Rosario was most probably built at the beginning of the 600s, when the brotherhood, having the same title, was built. The building’s original establishment is still visible in its gothic-Catalan style facade.

San Giuseppe Church

The construction of this church, dedicated to the craftsman San Giuseppe, patron of the carpenters, came was the will of a Spanish squire, called Lucifero Piras, who had it built in 1744 on his private territory.

San Pietro Church

The small country church dedicated to the fisherman S. Pietro, has remained, the only testament to the old and now lost Leni residence through out the centuries, a small farmers village that resided along the banks of the Leni River during Roman domination.

San Sisinnio Church

The numerous archaeological finds from the Nuragic and Roman ages found in the surroundings, however, testify that the site was a "magical" place and particularly suitable for religious celebrations since ancient times.

Church of Santa Barbara

The Church of Santa Barbara, along with the Church of the Anime Purganti (Purged Souls) and the Oratorio di Nostra Signora del Rosario (Oratory of Our Lady of the Rosary) form a triad of churches that overlook the main piazza of the townand it is Villacidro’s oldest church (13th century).

Villacidro Murgia Factory

Linked to the tradition of “fire water” production, the factory producing Murgia liquors is the pride and joy of Villacidro industry.

Mandel Foundry

Villacidro was chosen as the location for the construction of a large foundry in 1700.

The Wash house

The Washhouse was built in 1893 in the ancient district known as “Frontera de sa Mitza”, on a design by engineer Enrico Pani. It was part of a much broader project that included the entire surrounding piazza.

The mine of the Serci canal

Numerous testaments of the buildings and structures belonging to the mine of the Serci canal still remain: the washery, some structures once used as miners’ dwellings, the director’s building, present day restructured and used as offices for “l'Ente Foreste della Sardegna”, and many mining tunnels.

Montegranatico and Archaeological Museum

The ancient “monte del grano”, has hosted the “Villa Leni Civic Archaeological Museum” since 2003. This expositional area displays many original finds arriving from the area’s most important archaeological sites.

Cadoni Mill

The imposing structure of the Cadoni Mill stands adjacent to the Washhouse, and had maintained its ancient function all the way up to the Post World War II years as a more modern mill where wheat was brought to be ground.

Museum of Sacred Art and Furnishings

The Museum of Sacred Art and Furnishings was established in 1998. It is located in the rooms of the Oratory dedicated to the Vergine del Rosario (Virgin of the Rosary) and is one of the few examples of permanent exhibits of its kind on the entire island of Sardinia.

Narti Nuraghe

Narti nuraghe is a testament to the presence of nuragic man in the territory of Villacidro; this nuraghe is situated in one of the most fertile valleys of the area, on the banks of the Narti torrent.

Bishop’s Palace

The Palace was once the residence of the Brondo Marquises, lords of Villacidro from 1594 to 1694. Over the centuries it has been used for many purposes and has been renovated many times as well.

Castangias Park

The area in the outskirts of the town now known as Parco Castangias (Castangias Park) was once a beautiful forest filled with cherry trees, European nettle trees, walnut trees and first and foremost chestnut trees, from which the place gets its name.

Park of San Sisinnio

This Park of age-old Olive Trees is a natural spectacle of majestic beauty, one of the jewels in the crown of Villacidro’s natural heritage.

Monti Mannu Park

One of the best known and loved areas of Villacidro, the woods in Monti Mannu is often the destination of weekend excursions and trips to the countryside.

Parco di Villascema

A wide area at the foothills of Linas mountain range, crossed by the stream Leni, flowing into the vast artificial basin downstream.

Seddanus square

Situated in the outskirts furthest north of the town, this amazing, natural panoramic terrace is one of the most beautiful places and most loved by locals.

Jet Square

Piazza Zampillo has always been the heart of the town.

Pine Grove

A lovely, dense pine grove surrounds the upper portion of Villacidro, entirely covering the slopes of Monte Omo and Monte Cuccureddu upon which the town is positioned.

Sa Potecaria

“Sa Potecarìa”the ancient word in Sardinian dialect for pharmacy. This small, unique museum was brought into being thanks to the passion of pharmacist Dr. Ignazio Fanni.